vurrblurr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We've got our love to pay the bills

Not sure if anyone still pays attention to this diary page, but, for those of you who do, I've decided that Youtube videos do not a proper diary entry make. Why the sudden resurrection of my diaryland? It just crossed my mind the other day, and today I spent two hours reliving the events I deemed significant enough to publicly journal about over the last five years. Hard to believe how much I've changed through it all. Of course, certain threads have remained constant throughout, but diving in to what I was feeling during various chapters of my life was quite an adventure.

I don't know if it even makes sense to keep this up, but the satisfaction I got out of my cyber journey through the archives was enough to prompt me to post my first real entry in forever. My sophomore year of college will forever be a black hole as far as this diary is concerned, but I can some it up for you in a few bullet points.

1. Overly stressed out, the work load killed my body and soul. I absolutely broke down and was ready to quit school and quit life. But the intense workload at Wake has actually served to mellow out my attitude towards school. Funny how a prestigious institution of higher learning can squash the curiosities of a young student. I am older and wiser now (though don't we always think this way? A year from now I will read this entry and laugh at that statement), and I've learned that school should not be my top priority- and I'm okay with that. No idea as to what I want to do with my $200,000 tassel after graduation day... but I trust that my life will unfold as it should, and nothing I do will add or detract from that perfect and mysterious plan.

2. I made a lifelong friend, Afton. We lived together last year and she is honestly one of the most phenomenal people I've ever met. If I began blogging about her accomplishments and incredible character, I would be here all night, and seeing as it is already after 4 am I would rather get a little sleep tonight. Anyway, she's studying abroad in London this semester and I miss her every day.

3. I began dating Austin- once referred to as Dallas. I figure it's okay to be open about the names now. We had a fairytale-esque start to our relationship last fall, which continued into the spring and even this past summer. We've had a lot of fun together, though the honeymoon came to an abrupt halt upon returning to school this fall. Now we're just kind of in a relationship. I've never been a girlfriend this long, so everything from here on out is new terrain. I've freaked out a few times, but he's patient with me and I'm semi-content for now.

4. My friends. What more can I say except that I've never been so happy in my entire life. These people are unbelievable, and everyone plays a unique and distinct role in the group. It's big, about 18 in all. Though the core of it is around 12 or so. I already cry thinking about graduating and leaving the little world we've built here at Wake.

I know I began describing sophomore year, but I already deviated from that so I suppose I'll just bring up to speed on my life in general.

Mom- bought a cute house and a new dog! Cooper, such a cutie. It's my first dog (crime of the century!!) and I can already see why people are obsessed with their pets.

Dad- finally, finally, finally, FINALLY dumped Cheryl. There are literally no words to express my joy over this unexpected turn of events. There was a time not long ago when I was trying to cope with the realization that she would be present in my life as long as I lived... and that was not a comforting realization. My Dad rocks. After years of hurt and pain, he as seen the light. Daddy's coming home :) I would say he is 90% recovered to his former goofy and lovable self.

Belle- wow, out of nowhere my little sister is a bombshell. And when I say she's got it all, I mean it. Gorgeous looks, a heart of gold, athletic talent far beyond what I ever achieved, and the sharpest wit this side of the Mississippi. She's lightyears beyond those chuckleheads at Madison. They don't even know.

I don't want to write too much longer, because time's flying by this evening and I really should sleep for a few hours. But here are some more updates on recent events before I peace out for the night:

-Exam week at Wake, always a treat. I woke up at 9:30 for my 9 oclock exam. Can't even describe the sick feeling of dread that washed over me. It was fine though, and my adrenaline rush from waking up late powered me through the test at warp speed.

-Tonight I went to a Christmas party a few suites over. Ate three cookies and drank egg nog. The boys had strung a few hundred lights all around their rooms. One had a Santa beard of paper towels taped to his face. Rocked out to some Ingrid Michaelson like an indie wannabe. Austin wore a tacky sweater. All in all, a good time.

-My current roommate is leaving to study abroad in London next semester, and Evan (McQ's girlfriend and one of my good friends) will be moving in for the spring. I'm already brainstorming room arrangements!

-I'm 14 days away from my last taking my last dose of Accutane. It's been quite the roller coaster of human emotion, but in retrospect I'm really glad I went through with it. Acne has brought me to some unfathomably low points in my life, and while I'm still recovering from emotional scars I'd rather not talk about, I can honestly say that my skin looks good! It's going to take some getting used to, though, because prior to taking this medicine I didn't know what my face looked like without acne.

-Wisdom teeth extraction coming up in a week. After exams are over, I'm really looking forward to flying on pain killers and vegging in front of Parental Control and ANTM marathons while petting my new puppy.

-Also, I saw Wall-E and I have one thing to say about it. I would take a bullet for Walle right here right now. The world has never known a nobler robot.

-Aaaaaaaaannnnd I don't know what else to write. I'm pretty rusty at this I guess. I'm hoping to get back into the swing of updating so as to avoid boring entries like these. I'd rather tell you about funny little things that happen to me instead of typing up overgeneralized rants like this.

Enjoy the cold weather!
The Blurr

3:57 a.m. - 2009-12-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

what-a-card
ratherbored
jesushomeboy
urmomsaho
gizzhead
tituba
cherrygash
blazingstar
summerroll
hosay
yellow-ninja
johnguinness
callmebee
mojomike232
thehorsegirl
hobbitmurder
aftonian